Sadananda Gowda Political History

DV Sadananda Gowda is the next chief minister candidate for the Karnataka state and he is been recommended by Yeddyurappa as his successor for the position. He is also BJP President and also been an integral party in the Karnataka Politics.To know more about DV Sadananda Gowda

Sadanada Gowda is one of the candidate who may be the next Chief Minister of Karnataka State.

Mr. D V Sadananda Gowda is from Devaragunda family which belongs to Mandekolu village of Sullia Taluk. He was born on 18 March 1953 to Venkappa Gowda and Smt. Kamala.

Sadananda Gowda has completed his education in Keyyur and graduated from St.
Philomena college, Puttur. He then went on to get a law degree from Udupi Vaikunta Baliga College of Law. During his college days, he was actively involved in the politics and also got selected as the General Secretary of the Students union of the Law College and was District General Secretary of ABVP.

Sadananda has also practiced his law career in both Sulia and Puttur, also served as Public Prosecutor in Shirsi. However, he was actively involved in the public service and social activities for which he had to resign the Government post. He got married in 1981 to Smt Datty and they have son named Karthik.

DV Sadananda Gowda has been involved in many different fields of social life and some of this achievements and involvement are listed below:

  • He has distinguished himself in various capacities in the Co-operative movement. He has been VP for SCDCC Bank, Mangalore. Director for SKACM Society, President for Sullia PLD Bank and also served as Director for CAMPCO.
  • He has been General Secretary of Bharathiya Majdur Sangha and also President of Auto Ricksha Drivers and Owners Union.
  • His political career expands to different role in BJP, from being the President of BJP Sullia Constitutency, Yuva Morcha, VP of BJP for DK District, State Secretary of BJP Yuva Morcha 1983 – 1988 and State Secretary, BJP Karnataka from 2003-04.

  • DV Sadananda Gowda was elected as the Member of Legislative Assembly in the year 1994 and 1999. During his second tenure he became the Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. During tenure as MLA he had hold many different positions like:

  • Member of the Cell for preparing Draft Bill on prohibiting Atrocities on Women, Karnataka.
  • Member of the Committee of Energy, Fuel and Power formed by the speaker of the Legislative Assembly in the year 2001-02.
  • Member of the Committee for Public Undertaking in the year 2002-03 and in the year 2003-04.
  • He was nominated as the President of the Public Accounts Committee
    During his tenure, he had distributed more than 3500 Ashraya houses when he was Chairman of Ashraya Samithi and sanctioned 17000 files when he Chairman of Akrama-Sakrama.

  • Sadanada Gowda Political History

    DV Sadananda Gowda begin his MP career in 2005 and got elected as MP, was also recognized as the National Secretary of BJP. He was given the responsibility to look after the Goa State Party matters. After which Gowda went tobecome the State President of Karnataka for BJP and he has kept the party united.

    Now he is favourite of BS Yeddyurappa to be his successor for the next Chief Minister of Karnataka State.

    Sadananda Gowda Political Career:

  • 1994-2004 Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly (two terms)
  • 1995-1996 Member, Cell for preparing Draft Bill on Prohibiting atrocities on Women, Government of Karnataka
  • 1983-1988 State Secretary, BJP Yuva Morcha, Karnataka
  • 1999-2004 Deputy Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
    Member, Committee on Commerce
  • 2001-2002 Member, Committee for Energy, Fuel & Power, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 2002-2003 Member, Public Undertaking Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 2003-2004 President, Public Accounts Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • National Secretary, BJP
  • 2004-2006 Elected to 14th Lok Sabha
  • 2006-Present State President, BJP, Karnataka
  • August 2006-onwards Member, Committee on Commerece
  • January 2006-onwards Member, Sub-committee of the Department Related Parliamentary
  • Standing Committee on Commerce for Special Economic Zones
  • Aug. 2007 onwards Member, Committee on Commerce
  • 2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
  • Karnataka Chief Ministerial candidate

  • Get to know Karnataka State Ministers and Portfolio

    To know more about Sadananda Gowda

    List of Karnataka Chief Minister

    Related Articles

    Karnataka Chief Ministers from 1947 - till date

    Karnataka state was formed in year 1956 from states of Mysore and renamed in 1973 as Karnataka. Karnataka's official langauge is Kannada and has seen many ups and down in the political arena of the state.

    Cabinet Minister list of CM Jagadish Shettar

    Jagadish Shettar has been appointed as new Chief Minister of Karnataka State. With new portfolio in his belt, he has decided on working on Deputy CM and other team to get the Cabinet portfolio setup.

    More articles: Karnataka Chief Minister Karnataka Politics


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: