Read about B S Yeddyurappa Biography

Yeddyurappa is one of the strongest member in South India for BJP who has led party to form the first Government in Southern part of India. Yeddyurappa became the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

B S Yeddyurappa belongs to Lingayat community and was born to family Siddalingappa and Puttathayamma on Feb 27, 1943 in Bookanakere in Manday District. Yeddyurappa has completed is B. A in education and married to Mythra devi who was the daughter of Rice mill where Yeddyurappa has worked durig his early. Now Yeddurappa has two sons, Raghavendra and Vijayendra and three daughters, Arunadevi, Padmavati and Umadevi.

Political Profile of B S Yeddyurappa:

Yeddyurappa rose his politics career after he was appointed a secretary fo RSS in Shikaripur unit in 1970 and elected as president in 1972 for Jan Sangh. Yeddyurappa has also gone to jail during the emergency in the country. In 1980, he was appointed as President for BJP for Shikaripur Taluk unit and then Shimoga district. In 1988 he becam the President of the BJP unit in the Karnataka state. Became the leader of opposition in 1999.

With tie up with JD(S) and formed coalition Government with H D Kumaraswamy. There was deal struck between the parties of ruling the state for 20 months each. However, Kumarswamy did not allow Yeddyurappa to form the Government after his tenure, which led to re-election in the state. Yeddyurappa won the election on his own, which opened Gates for BJP party to form it first non-alliance Government in South India in leadership of B S Yeddyurappa.

In Nov 2010, with Lokayuktha filing cases against the B S Yeddyurappa on allegedly alloting lands to his sons and in law in Banglaore around International airpot and also illegal mining issue in Bellary. With documents provided by Lokayukta team proved enough evidence against B S Yeddyurappa, has led him to resign from the post on July 2011.

Related Articles

Karnataka Chief Ministers from 1947 - till date

Karnataka state was formed in year 1956 from states of Mysore and renamed in 1973 as Karnataka. Karnataka's official langauge is Kannada and has seen many ups and down in the political arena of the state.

More articles: Yeddyurappa


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: