Jagadish Shettar - Chief Minister of Karnataka?

Jagadish Shettar a possible candidate for the CM post for Karnataka State. The decision is going to be taken by BJP Government following the pressure from BS Yeddyurappa and other ministers from the state. Jagadish is a close aide to BS Yeddyurappa and also first choice of CM. Know more about Jagadish Shettar

Jagadish Shivappa Shettar is one of the senior leader of BJP in Karnataka State. Currently holding the office of Rural Development, Panchayat Raj, Rural Water Supply and Sanitation in the Government.

Jagadish has been integral part of the BJP party and has played an important to bring the party into power in the state. He was appointed as Revenue Minster and then became the speaker in 2008.

In 2011, after the resignation of B.S. Yeddyurappa, Jagadish Shettar emerged as a major candidate for the post of Chief Minister. However, he was defeated by D.V. Sadananda Gowda to head the state as Chief Minister.

Jagadish Shettar

About Jagadish Shettar

Jagadish Shettar was born on 17 December 1955 in Kerur village of Badami Talki in Bagalkot District. Mr. Shettar father was a senior activist of the Jana Sangh and elected 5 times for the Muncipla corporation and is frist Mayor of Hubli-Dharwad.

Jagadish Shettar holds B.com and LLB degree. Before joining politics he was a practicing lawyer for 20 years at the Hubli Bar. He married Smt. Shilpa and the couple have 2 sons - Prashant and Sankalp.

Political Career of Jagadish Shettar

  • Active Member of Akila Bharat Vidyarthi Parishat and Swayam Sevak, RSS
  • 1990 – President, Hubli Rural Constituency
  • 1994 – Elected as Dharwad district BJP President
  • 1996 – Elected as Secretary, State BJP
  • 1999 - Leader of Oppostion, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 2005 - Elected as President, State BJP
  • 2006 - Served as Revenue Minister in Karnataka State Government
  • 2008 - Elected as Speaker, 13th Assembly, First Speaker of BJP in Southern India
  • 2009 - Rural Development and Panchayat Raj

  • To know more about Jagadish Shettar

    Related Articles

    Karnataka Chief Ministers from 1947 - till date

    Karnataka state was formed in year 1956 from states of Mysore and renamed in 1973 as Karnataka. Karnataka's official langauge is Kannada and has seen many ups and down in the political arena of the state.

    Cabinet Minister list of CM Jagadish Shettar

    Jagadish Shettar has been appointed as new Chief Minister of Karnataka State. With new portfolio in his belt, he has decided on working on Deputy CM and other team to get the Cabinet portfolio setup.

    More articles: Karnataka Ministers Chief Minister BJP Party


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: